Academic Catalog

University Public Safety

UMW Public Safety includes UMW Police, an accredited police agency, and the Office of Emergency Management. The University Police offer around-the-clock law enforcement and security for the Fredericksburg campus. They employ a community policing philosophy that includes outreach efforts to the University and local community. The 19 full-time sworn officers and 15 security personnel are certified by the Commonwealth of Virginia to enforce state and local laws and ordinances as well as University rules and regulations. The University employs security personnel at the Fredericksburg, Stafford, and Dahlgren campuses during class and library hours, with back-up from UMW Police and Stafford or King George County sheriffs’ departments, as necessary.